What are the 4 types of immigrants in Canada?

Immigrating to Canada has many programs and ways, in this blog, we will discuss what are the 4 types of immigrants that apply regularly each in their way.

Immigration programs are many such as Express Entry, Provincial Nominee Programs, Atlantic Immigration Pilot, Family Sponsorship, and many other programs. We will guide you through your immigration process, all you have to do is follow our steps and consult us on how you can start and which program is better for you and start your immigration journey!

What are the 4 types of immigrants in Canada?

What are the 4 types of immigrants you will find in Canada?

Immigration to Canada has several types and categories and we will discuss each of them in detail in this blog.

Find out if you are eligible to get in Canada

1. Economic Immigration

This category of immigrants, they are selected based on how can they change the Canadian economy positively, and this category includes alot of immigration programs that can be classified into:

  1. Worker Programs
  2. Business programs
  3. Provincial and territorial nominee

Each category of this 3 includes more programs, so let’s discuss each of them:

  1. Worker Program: Worker programs are the programs that the immigrant applies to if he/she is a skilled worker and has strong work experience, this programs accept immigrants that meet the labour market needs.

What are the worker programs that I can apply in?

 Here are the worker programs you can apply for:

  1. Skilled workers which include:
  1. Skilled Trades Worker
  2. Canadian Experience Class
  3. Caregiver
  4. Atlantic Immigration Program
  1. Business Programs: This category includes immigrants who are chosen for their skills and experience to either manage a business or start a new one, we will discuss the 3 main categories for business programs and what they include:
  1. Entrepreneur
  • Federal Entrepreneur
  • Quebec Entrepreneur
  1. Investor
  • Federal Investor
  • Quebec Investor
  1. Self-Employed
  • Federal Self-Employed
  • Quebec Self-Employed
  1. Provincial and territorial nominee: This category of economic immigration is based on the nomination of the immigrant in any province or territory.

Immigrants are chosen depending on their skills, work experience, educational level, and language fluency if you have strong experience in each of these factors you will be a good fit for this program.

This type of immigrant includes those who are sponsored by their family member, but this family member must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident to be able to sponsor the immigrant.

Who are the family members that can sponsor you?

3. Refugee

Refugees are a type of immigrants who face many risks in their home country, such as people who are affected by the civil war or armed conflict or have suffered a massive violation of human rights, or those who fear persecution due to their race, religion, nationality, or even those who have some specific political thoughts.

What are the refugee pathways?

  1. Protected person in Canada or dependent abroad
  1. Resettled Refugee

4. Other immigrants

It is the type of immigrant that allows you to get permanent residency in Canada but with another program that doesn’t fall under the economic programs, family sponsorship, or refugee.

In Canada, there are four main types of immigrants: economic immigrants, Family sponsorship, refugees, and other immigrants. Economic immigrants come to Canada based on their skills and qualifications to contribute to the country’s economy. Family sponsorships are sponsored by their close relatives who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents. Refugees are individuals fleeing persecution, war, or violence and seek protection in Canada. Humanitarian immigrants are individuals who are granted admission for compassionate or humanitarian reasons. These four categories encompass the majority of immigrants in Canada and reflect the country’s commitment to diversity and inclusivity.

Find out if you are eligible to get in Canada